The Turning Point

I believe that the morning that we woke up in Sonoma was the first morning on the whole trip that we woke up after 8. For me it was 9, but for the other girls it was more like noon. Since I had the whole morning to myself I took my car into town to get an oil change. At this point we had put about 4,000 miles on the car so I figured it would be a good idea. I waited at a coffee shop across the street and caught up on internet things that I really hadn’t had a chance to do until now. We’d been on the road for over two weeks now and I was surprised how little free time I actually had, despite only having one true job everyday, which was playing shows.

While on my computer I took a look at the map, checked the weather for Eugene Oregon, read my emails and abruptly realized that we were kind of screwed. Awful snow storms were beating the Northwest Coast, roads we’re out and detours were few and far. On top of that, our Portland show fell through. The way I saw it was that we could drive another 700 miles or we could start heading back East. For the next hour or so I sat and thought about the trip, now that turning back was an option, I started to feel a little homesick. Funny how that happens. Portland sounded so great but I found myself trying to come up with reasons why it would be better not to make the Northern trek.

When I went back to Becca and Sandy I told them about all the little glitches I had discovered and about my inner turmoil. I was surprised how all the realizations I had in the coffee shop were only reiterated by the two of them. We all decided that re-routing would be a good idea. For one, Becca’s sister and my brother both live in Denver, so instead of spending those four days driving through the Northwest, we could spend time in one place with people we don’t get to see enough as it is. I wasn’t at all sad or defeated by this decision, it just meant that touring West would have to happen again.

 

Everything's good..
Everything’s good..

 

We got ourselves some fresh fruit..
We got ourselves some fresh fruit..

 

..And we headed back into SF for one last afternoon on the West Coast.
..And we headed back into SF for one last afternoon on the West Coast.

The highlight of my day was when we got done exploring the city, had a little more wine and decided to record a cover song with Lauren. She has a great recording set up and a sweet guy who was more than generous with his time. They set up some mics and he filmed us singing this song. We decided on “Car” by Built to Spill, because we have a shared love for the band, and the song lends itself to harmonies.

A few other highlights of our last day before going East:

An excellent sushi place on Valencia St, SF
An awesome sushi place on Valencia St, SF. Rochester NY just can’t compete.
"What's an It's It?" I say. And everybody in the whole store laughs.
“What’s an It’s It?” I say. And everybody in the whole store laughs.
Our host with the most, Lauren O'Connell. Come back to Rochester to visit soon!
Our host with the most, Lauren O’Connell. Come back to Rochester to visit soon!
Leave a Reply

